I have had a lot of friends come and go over the years, most people do, most people still will. With every hardship and heartbreak your friend circle will decrease and you will soon realise which ones stand by you, love you and support you. Those are the people you should cherish the most in this world, they become a part of your family without you even knowing. The bonds become stronger and before you know it, almost everything you do HAS to involve these people.
The one thing I have learned over the years is that with depression, friends of the past have stated it is nothing and I will be fine. They were right in the sense I turned out fine, but they weren’t there when I needed them the most, to get me to feeling fine and comfortable in my own skin. As years went on I made new friends, who inspired me, believed in me and saw something in me that I lacked to see. A spark that ignited a flame inside me that I didn’t realise was even there to begin with.
To the people I have had the pleasure and privilege of meeting, the ones who are still here for me  … Thank You. You have helped me shape who I am today, and I have never been more proud of the person I have become, and it’s because of all of you who stood by me at my lowest point, who showed me there was a light in the dark … and most importantly that I was not alone in this endless battle with depression itself.
What I’m trying to say is, friendship is one of the best support systems to get you through this mental illness, the truest of friends will listen when you need to talk, they will speak when you can’t, they will go to the ends of the earth to make sure that you never lose who you truly are. Those are the friends you NEED in your life. Those kind of people are rare, and they should be cherished forever. Without them, you will never truly be free.

1be98917d3ae5ecd78a254cf9d44610e

Leave a Reply

